Broadband comparison
Community Fibre vs Hyperoptic broadband
On price rises, Community Fibre is cheaper: over a 24-month contract starting now, Hyperoptic’s rises add £24 more.
bemobiles tips
Which is cheaper?
It depends on your address and the offers of the day — the deals below are for your postcode. Add each provider’s rises: Community Fibre +£72, Hyperoptic +£96 over 24 months.
Can I switch between them easily?
Yes. With One Touch Switch you only contact the new provider, even between Openreach, Virgin Media and full fibre networks.
What should I compare?
The 24-month total including rises, the speed guaranteed at your address, and set-up costs.
vs
- Rises over 24 months: +£72 vs +£96
- Social tariff: yes vs yes
- Complaints: – vs – per 100k
Live deals from both providers for your postcode appear below.
Community Fibre and Hyperoptic side by side
![]() | ![]() | |
|---|---|---|
| Network | Its own symmetric full fibre up to 5Gb: 32 London boroughs plus parts of Surrey and Sussex, 1.4 million premises | Its own full fibre, mainly in apartment blocks, plus Openreach full fibre from 2026; 64 towns and cities, 2 million premises (availability is per building) |
| Contract | 12, 18 or 24 months (24 is cheapest) | 12 or 24 months, or monthly at a few pounds more |
| Price rises | +£3 a month every April during the contract (reintroduced August 2026); +£4 after it; Essential exempt | Contracts from 6 January 2026: +£4 a month every April; Fair Fibre exempt |
| Added over 24 months | +£72 | +£96 |
| Social tariff | Essential £12.50 (35Mb symmetric), 12 months, free installation and router — open to everyone, no benefit check | Fair Fibre: £12 (50Mb), £13 (150Mb), £17 (500Mb), £20 (1Gb), monthly, no fees; new and existing customers, wide list of benefits |
| Credit check | No credit check (confirmed to Ofcom) | Yes (Experian/Equifax) |
| Set-up | £0; mesh Wi-Fi 6 router from 150Mb | Activation £19 on contract, £29–39 monthly; Wi-Fi 6 router included |
| Leaving early | Monthly price × remaining months × 90%; 30 days to cancel for free | The remaining amount less avoided costs; 30 days’ notice |
| Guarantees | Premium WiFi add-on: 50Mb in every room or three months back | Guaranteed speed equals the headline speed (symmetric 150/500/900); leave after 3 days below |
| Ofcom complaints per 100k | Not reported | Not reported |
Verdict
On price rises, Community Fibre is cheaper: over a 24-month contract starting now, Hyperoptic’s rises add £24 more. Network matters — Community Fibre: Its own symmetric full fibre up to 5Gb: 32 London boroughs plus parts of Surrey and Sussex, 1.4 million premises. Hyperoptic: Its own full fibre, mainly in apartment blocks, plus Openreach full fibre from 2026; 64 towns and cities, 2 million premises (availability is per building). Check which reaches your address.
Facts checked 24 October 2026 · Community Fibre review · Hyperoptic review
Community Fibre and Hyperoptic deals at your address
FAQ
Common questions
Is Community Fibre or Hyperoptic cheaper?
On price rises, Community Fibre is cheaper: over a 24-month contract starting now, Hyperoptic’s rises add £24 more. Starting prices change often, so check both at your postcode.
Which has fewer complaints?
Ofcom doesn’t publish comparable figures for both, or they are level.
Do Community Fibre and Hyperoptic have social tariffs?
Community Fibre: Essential £12.50 (35Mb symmetric), 12 months, free installation and router — open to everyone, no benefit check. Hyperoptic: Fair Fibre: £12 (50Mb), £13 (150Mb), £17 (500Mb), £20 (1Gb), monthly, no fees; new and existing customers, wide list of benefits.